# Mason County Retired Teachers December 3 2019

Jim Winkleman again served a delicious meal to 28 retired teahers and 1 guest. Our prayer was taken from the program booklet. Brenda Stadsholt received the free meal.

#### Program

Members were treated to the music of Illini Central choral students under the direction of Amy Swaar . They sang a beautiful medley of Christmas music.

## Meeting

Co-President Terri McDowell called the meeting to order. The pledge was recited. A big thanks was given to Jim Winkleman for the meal and to Linda Rumler for the beautiful decorations. We welcomed Steve Henry, a 2010 retiree who taught 33 years at Illini Central.

### Secretary's Report

Minutes were read and approved. A motion to approve the minutes was made by Mary Caldwell and seconded by Linda Rumler.

### Treasurer's Report

Sandy Pottorf reported a current balance of \$1,145.39. The report was filed for audit.

## Recognition

Co-President Terri extended a big congratulations to Alice Emme and the Havana Lutheran Choir for their trip to New York City to sing in Carnegie Hall. Our pride continued to show as Diane and Donna Stelter were recognized for being named Volunteers of the Year in Havana. A thank was given to Linda Rumler for the MCRTA Booklets .In addition, the club received a thank you from the IRTA action committee for our donation.

# Ed. Enrichment

The Ed. Enrichment Committee reported that checks have been given to the 3 county schools' respective libraries.

# Ed. Foundation

Donna Stelter reported that the Excellence in Education grant money of \$36,500 has been awarded. Illini Central teacher, Ryan Burks, received a grant for educational materials for teaching the constitution and for an "escape room" designed to make history more fun. .Havana teacher Nicole French was also a grant recipient.

# Old Business

Charlie and Debbie Nelson reported on the IRTA convention. They accepted Mary Caldwell's award as our unit retiree. Congratulations, Mary!

A motion was made to approve the revised constitution and by-laws by Sue Strauman and seconded by Bernice Hall.

#### New Busines

A motion was made by Mary Caldwell and seconded by Bernice Hall to accept Marilyn Stout as the new nominee for Co-President for the years 2021-2023.

A discussion was held on whether or not to distribute new local membership cards. The consensus was to cease having the local cards.

Co-President Chris VanEtten installed the new officers as follows: Co-Presidents

Terri McDowell 1 yr. 2020 Bonnie Kammeyer 2 yrs 2020-2022 Marilyn Stout 2 yrs. 2021-2023 Secretary - Sue Strauman Treasurer - Sandy Pottorf

Terri and Bonnie surprised outgoing president Chris VanEtten with a lovely gift. There was an abundance of gifts, including a drawing of delicious "goodies" for the membership. Winners included Arlene Cox, Darla Westergreen, Georgeen Wagner, Donna Stelter, Ginny Ramage Susan Dierker and Linda Rumler. The free meal for March goes to Pat Showalter. Thank you Terri and Chris for your good leadership and your generosity!

The next meeting will be held March 9 at Trinity Lutheran Church in Manito. The program will be Chuck Collins, meteorologist at WEEK and WHOI TV. The meeting was adjourned at 1:28

Respectfully Submitted by

Karen Barrett, Secretary